Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Winners of Goan league honoured

Winners of Goan league honoured

Saturday, June 16, 2007

A prize distribution ceremony for the Bahrain Goans Football league was held at the Al Anarath Hall in Hoora.

Basma deputy managing director Akil Aradi was the chief guest while Konkan Singers Club president Henry Almeida, and President of Young Goans Club president Francis Correia, Roland Varella of Gulf Computer Services, Francis Vaz of FFR Production and former president of Konkan Singers Club Edward D'Almeida were the guests of honour.

The Fr Felicio Diniz Rolling Trophy was handed over to Canacona by Henry Fernandes, the captain of last year's champions Navelim.

Besides individual trophies to the top three teams Canacona, Vasco and Chinchinim, the other teams Benaulim, Navelim, Siolim and Mapusa were also given participation awards.

Other awards - Fair Play Trophy: Siolim; Highest scorer: Biju Papachan (Canacona); player of the year: Pratap Sawant (Canacona); Manager of the year: Raul Fernandes (Benaulim); Best goalkeeper: Simon D'Souza (Mapusa); Promising players: Deepu Jaydas and Sam Jose (both of Mapusa); Youngest player: Sanches Dias; Hat-trick scorer: Velroy D'Costa (Benaulim).

Siolim manager Anthony D'Costa was honoured by Bahrain Goans for his long time association with football. All referees and volunteers were also given gifts.

No comments:

Post a Comment